CMC Vellore Alumni ​​

​​ NORTH AMERICAN REUNION ​​        [Since 1981]

39th GOTC: 11-14 June 2020: ​MINNEAPOLIS


Details of next event (2020) coming soon!
Watch  this space!



Please Pre-Register!

Category I - Module 1​​​

 Friday, June 28, 2019​​

  1. 8:00
    Sarat Kuppachi
  2. 8:15
    Hypertension and CKD – Insights and Updates
    Satish Kumar
  3. 9:00
    Case Studies Highlighting Recent Advances in Endocrinology
    Priya Dayamani John
  4. 10:30
    When to order a coronary calcium CT scan? Diagnostic and prognostic implications of coronary artery calcification (CAC)
    Sunil Nowrangi
  5. 9:45
    The Aging Physician – Challenge and Opportunity
    Sudi Devanesan
  6. 11:15
    New Approaches to Dissect and Treat Human Autoimmune Fibrotic Diseases
    Shiv Pillai

Nursing Scientific Session

 Friday, June 28, 2019

Download Nursing Reunion Program

  1. 8:35
    Keynote Speech
    Selva Titus Chacko
  2. 9:15
    The Value of Relationship Nursing using Competence, Compassion and Communication
    Margaret Kamalini Kumar
  3. 10:00
    Magnet Recognition - Journey to Nursing Excellence
    Shanthi Margoschis
    Nursing Practice
  4. 9:45
    Break and Poster Session
  5. 10:45
    Applied Research for Nurses
    Vinciya Pandian
  6. 12:15
    Vote of Thanks
    Margaret Kamalini Kumar & Vinciya Pandian
  7. 12:20
    Group Photograph
  8. 8:00
    Meet and Greet
  9. 8:30
    Vijaya Hansdak
  10. 11:15
    Innovative Approaches to Nursing Education
    Lydia Booher
  11. 11:45
    Self Introductions and Batch Grouping
    70s: Margaret Kamalini Kumar 80s: Dhaya Prasad 90s: Jane Von Gaudecker 00's: Helen Wilson


Convenor: Margaret Kumar

  Saturday, June 29, 2019​​

  1. 8:20
    How Exercise Saved my Life
    Kurshid Jeejeebhoy
  2. 8:40
  3. 8:00
    Welcome and Opening Remarks
  4. 9:00
    Panel Discussion
  5. 9:30
  6. 9:50
    Healthcare in a Vulnerable Populations
    Sudi Devanesan
  7. 10:10
    Healthcare Delivery in a War Zone
    Anil Cheriyan
  8. 10:30
    Urban Health - A Global Health Priority
    Ashwin Budden
  9. 10:50
    Incentive Mechanisms for the Healthcare Provider
    Laura di Giorgio
  10. 11:10
    Panel Discussion
  11. ------------ SESSION ONE-------------
  12. ------------- SESSION TWO -----------------


​​Category I - Module 2

  Saturday, June 29, 2019

  1. 8:00
    Welcome and Announcements
    Sara Kuppachi
  2. 8:40
    Outcomes of the clinical trial in childhood ALL - UK and India
    Vaskar Saha
  3. 10:10
    Efforts to enhance the clinical research ecosystem in India
    Usha Menon
  4. 9:25
    Bariatric Surgery: Patient Selection and Barriers
    Subash Kini
  5. 8:10
    Clinical approach to the Evaluation of Thrombocytopenia
    Harris Naina

CME Category 1 - Program Faculty​​​​

Director: Sarat Kuppachi, MD​​
Associate Professor in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Iowa City, IA.

New this year, please pre-register in the University of Iowa (UI) CME Portal for your CME credits. This is a
separate registration from your conference registration, and it will take just a few moments to complete. UI
will not collect any fees from you.
Register here:
After the conference, you will return to the UI CME Portal to complete an evaluation and self-claim your CME
certificate. (UI will provide instructions.)

CME ACCREDITATION: This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation
requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the
joint providership of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and CMC Vellore Alumni Association of
North America. The Carver College of Medicine is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical
education for physicians.

CME CREDIT DESIGNATION: The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine designates this live activity for
a maximum of 6.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits TM . Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with
the extent of their participation in the activity.

DISCLOSURE POLICY: Everyone in a position to control the content of this educational activity will disclose to
the CME provider and to attendees all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest.

 FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:                                          
 Sarat Kuppachi MD
Associate Professor in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, 
Iowa City, IA 52242
1. Pavan Bhargava : Batch of 99
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD.

2. Priya Dayamani John: Batch of 87.
Assistant Professor; Department of Medicine, Emory University, Atlanta, GA.

3. Sudi Devanesan: Batch of 62.
Associate Professor, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.

4. Naina Harris : Batch of 92.
Texas Oncology, Fort Worth, TX.

5. Subhash Kini: Batch of 79.
Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY.

6. Satish Kumar: Batch of 1971
Professor of Medicine, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma, OK
7. Sunil Nowrangi : Batch of 71.
Associate Professor, Division of Cardiology. Loma Linda University School of Medicine,
Loma Linda, CA.

​8. Shiv Pillai : Batch of 69 
Professor of Medicine and Health Sciences and Technology,
Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA.

9. Vaskar Saha: Batch of 1976
Professor of Paediatric Oncology, University of Manchester,
Manchester, UK

10, Nalini Vadivelu : Batch of 1970
Professor , Department of Anesthesiology , Yale University, New Haven, CT.

11. Usha Menon: Batch of 1979/80
 Professor of Gynaecological Cancer. MRC Clinical Trials Unit,
University College of London,
London, UK

Continuing Nursing Education
Inaugural Scientific Session

Director: Vinciya Pandian PhD​​
Associate Professor | International Practicum Coordinator
Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, Baltimore MD

DISCLAIMER: This Continuing Nursing Education activity was approved by the Virginia Nurses Association, an  accredited approver of Continuing Nursing Education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.
   Program Coordinator:     Jane Von Gaudecker
   Master of Ceremonies:   Sherin Abraham
   Nurse Planner:                 Malliga Ravindar

How to obtain Nursing Contact Hours: Fill out an evaluation form provided at the end of the scientific session.



1. Selva Titus Chacko
Past Dean of Nursing, CMC Vellore, India

2. Margaret Kamalini Kumar
Member Board of Directors, Vellore CMC Foundation, New York

3. Shanthi Margoschis
Chief Nurse Executive, Kaiser Permanente 

4. Vinciya Pandian
Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

5. Lydia Booher
Coordinator ANM, PX, Cleveland Clinic